Lelu Declaration

LeluDecSigning_610px.jpgHereditary Chief Yahaan (Don Wesley) of the Gitwilgyoots Tribe of the Lax Kw’alaams leads a formal declaration to oppose the Lelu Island gas hub proposed by Petronas as a key component of it’s CAD 36 billion LNG project in BC. Leaders from the Nine Allied Tribes of the Lax Kw’alaams First Nation; leaders of upriver nations including the Gitxsan, Wet’suwet’en, Lake Babine and Haisla First Nations; Grand Chief Stewart Phillip of the Union of B.C. Indian Chiefs; all four of the region’s senior elected representatives, NDP MP Nathan Cullen (Bulkley Valley), and three northern NDP MLAs – Jennifer Rice (North Coast), Doug Donaldson (Stikine) and Robin Austin (Skeena) all signed the declaration.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s